AWS Trusted Advisor provides best practices (or checks) in four categories: cost optimization, security, fault tolerance, and performance improvement. The status of the check is shown by using color coding on the dashboard page:

Red: action recommended

Yellow: investigation recommended

Green: no problem detected

For each check, you can review a detailed description of the recommended best practice, a set of alert criteria, guidelines for action, and a list of useful resources on the topic.

Two Trusted Advisor checks are available to all AWS customers to help improve security and performance: Service Limits, and Security Groups - Specific Ports Unrestricted.

Dashboard

Cost Optimization

See how you can save money on AWS by eliminating unused and idle resources or making commitments to reserved capacity.

Unassociated Elastic IP Addresses

Checks for Elastic IP addresses (EIPs) that are not associated with a running Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance. EIPs are static IP addresses designed for dynamic cloud computing. Unlike traditional static IP addresses, EIPs can mask the failure of an instance or Availability Zone by remapping a public IP address to another instance in your account. A nominal charge is imposed for an EIP that is not associated with a running instance.

Security

Improve the security of your application by closing gaps, enabling various AWS security features, and examining your permissions.

Security Groups - Specific Ports Unrestricted (Free!)

Checks security groups for rules that allow unrestricted access (0.0.0.0/0) to specific ports. Unrestricted access increases opportunities for malicious activity (hacking, denial-of-service attacks, loss of data). The ports with highest risk are flagged red, and those with less risk are flagged yellow. Ports flagged green are typically used by applications that require unrestricted access, such as HTTP and SMTP.

If you have intentionally configured your security groups in this manner, we recommend using additional security measures to secure your infrastructure (such as IP tables).

Security Groups - Unrestricted Access

Checks security groups for rules that allow unrestricted access to a resource. Unrestricted access increases opportunities for malicious activity (hacking, denial-of-service attacks, loss of data).

Amazon S3 Bucket Permissions

Checks buckets in Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) that have open access permissions. Bucket permissions that grant List access to everyone can result in higher than expected charges if objects in the bucket are listed by unintended users at a high frequency. Bucket permissions that grant Upload/Delete access to everyone create potential security vulnerabilities by allowing anyone to add, modify, or remove items in a bucket. This check examines explicit bucket permissions, but it does not examine associated bucket policies that might override the bucket permissions.

Fault Tolerance

Increase the availability and redundancy of your AWS application by take advantage of auto scaling, health checks, multi AZ, and backup capabilities.

Amazon EBS Snapshots

Checks the age of the snapshots for your Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) volumes (available or in-use). Even though Amazon EBS volumes are replicated, failures can occur. Snapshots are persisted to Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) for durable storage and point-in-time recovery.

Amazon EC2 Availability Zone Balance

Checks the distribution of Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances across Availability Zones in a region. Availability Zones are distinct locations that are designed to be insulated from failures in other Availability Zones and to provide inexpensive, low-latency network connectivity to other Availability Zones in the same region. By launching instances in multiple Availability Zones in the same region, you can help protect your applications from a single point of failure.

Load Balancer Optimization

Checks your load balancer configuration. To help increase the level of fault tolerance in Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) when using Elastic Load Balancing, we recommend running an equal number of instances across multiple Availability Zones in a region. A load balancer that is configured accrues charges, so this is a cost-optimization check as well.

Amazon S3 Bucket Logging

Checks the configuration of Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) buckets that have server access logging enabled. When logging is initially enabled, the configuration is automatically validated; however, future modifications can result in logging failures. This check examines explicit Amazon S3 bucket permissions, but it does not examine associated bucket policies that might override the bucket permissions.

Performance

Improve the performance of your service by checking your service limits, ensuring you take advantage of provisioned throughput, and monitoring for overutilized instances.

High Utilization Amazon EC2 Instances

Checks the Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instances that were running at any time during the last 14 days and alerts you if the daily CPU utilization was more than 90% on 4 or more days. Consistent high utilization can indicate optimized, steady performance, but it can also indicate that an application does not have enough resources. To get daily CPU utilization data, download the report for this check.

Service Limits (Free!)

Checks for usage that is more than 80% of the service limit. Values are based on a snapshot, so your current usage might differ. Limit and usage data can take up to 24 hours to reflect any changes. In some cases, your usage might be greater than the indicated limit for a period of time.

Amazon EBS Provisioned IOPS (SSD) Volume Attachment Configuration

Checks for Provisioned IOPS volumes that are attached to an Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) instance that is not Amazon EBS-optimized. Provisioned IOPS volumes in the Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) are designed to deliver the expected performance only when they are attached to an EBS-optimized instance.

Large Number of Rules in an EC2 Security Group

Checks each Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) security group for an excessive number of rules. If a security group has a large number of rules, performance can be degraded. For more information, see Amazon EC2 Security Groups.

Large Number of EC2 Security Group Rules Applied to an Instance

Checks for Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) instances that have a large number of security group rules. Performance can be degraded if an instance has a large number of rules.

Overutilized Amazon EBS Magnetic Volumes

Checks for Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) Magnetic volumes that are potentially overutilized and might benefit from a more efficient configuration. A Magnetic volume is designed for applications with moderate or bursty I/O requirements, and the IOPS rate is not guaranteed. It delivers approximately 100 IOPS on average, with a best-effort ability to burst to hundreds of IOPS. For consistently higher IOPS, you can switch to a General Purpose (SSD) volume or use a Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volume, which can deliver up to 4,000 IOPS. A Provisioned IOPS (SSD) volume is designed to deliver within 10% of the specified IOPS performance 99.9% of the time when it is attached to an Amazon EBS-optimized Amazon EC2 instance.

AWS Trusted Advisor 提供了以下四种类别的最佳实践(或检查项目):成本优化安全容错能力性能提升。通过使用控制面板页面中的色彩编码可以显示检查项目的状态:

红色:推荐的操作

黄色:推荐的调查

绿色:未检测到问题

对于每一个检查项目,您可以查看推荐的最佳实践的详细说明、一组警报标准、操作指南和与主题有关的一系列实用资源。

两个 Trusted Advisor 检查项目提供给所有的 AWS 客户,帮助改进安全性和性能:服务限制和安全组 – 特定端口不受限制。

0040768916_1418430940_TA_Dashboard_EN-CN

查看如何通过去除未使用的和闲置的资源或承诺预留容量来节省 AWS 投资。

检查与运行的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例不相关的弹性 IP 地址 (EIP)。EIP 是专用于动态云计算的静态 IP 地址。与传统静态 IP 地址不同,EIP 可以通过将公用 IP 地址重新映射到账户中的其他实例来掩盖实例或可用区域的故障。将对与运行的实例不相关的 EIP 进行象征性收费。


通过关闭缺口、启用各种 AWS 安全功能以及检查权限,提高应用程序的安全性。

检查安全组中允许对特定端口进行不受限制访问 (0.0.0.0/0) 的规则。不受限制的访问将增加发生恶意活动(非法访问、拒绝服务攻击、数据丢失)的机会。高风险的端口标记为红色,低风险的端口标记为黄色。标记为绿色的端口通常由需要不受限制访问的应用程序使用,例如 HTTP 和 SMTP。

如果您有意以此方式设置安全组,我们建议您使用其他安全措施来保护基础设施(例如 IP 表)。

检查安全组中允许对资源进行不受限制访问的规则。不受限制的访问将增加发生恶意活动(非法访问、拒绝服务攻击、数据丢失)的机会。

检查 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 中具有开放访问权限的存储桶。如果存储桶中的对象是由无意用户高频列出的,则授予每个人访问列表权限的存储桶权限可能会导致高于预期的费用。为每个人授予“Upload/Delete”访问权限的存储段权限可能会因添加、修改或删除存储段中的项目而造成潜在安全漏洞。此检查将审查显式存储桶权限,但不审查可能替代存储桶权限的相关存储桶策略。


利用自动扩展、运行状况检查、多可用区域以及备份功能,提升您的 AWS 应用程序的可用性和冗余。

检查 Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 卷(可用或使用中)的快照年龄。即使复制了 Amazon EBS 卷,仍可能发生故障。快照一直存放于 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3),用于持久存储和时间点恢复。

检查 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例在某地区内跨可用区域的分布情况。可用区域是专用于隔离其他可用区域内故障的不同位置,可向相同地区中的其他可用区域提供低延迟的廉价网络连接。通过在同一地区内的多个可用区域启动实例,您可以保护应用程序免于单点故障的影响。

检查您的负载均衡器配置。为了提升使用 Elastic Load Balancing 时的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 容错水平,我们建议在某地区内跨多可用区域运行相同数量的实例。经过配置的负载均衡器会产生费用,所以这也是一项成本优化检查。

检查启用了服务器访问记录的 Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3) 存储桶的配置。当日志记录开始启用时,系统会自动验证该配置;但随后的修改可能会导致日志记录故障。此检查将审查显式 Amazon S3 存储桶权限,但不审查可能替代存储桶权限的相关存储桶策略。


通过检查服务限制、确保充分利用已调配吞吐量和监控过度利用实例,来提升服务的性能。

检查在过去 14 天内的任何时间运行的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例,如果在 4 天或更多天内每日 CPU 使用率为 90% 或以上,则将向您发出警告。持续的高使用率可能表示优化、稳定的性能,但也可能表示应用程序拥有的资源不足。若要获取每日 CPU 使用率数据,请下载此检查的报告。

检查超过服务限制的 80% 的使用量。这些值基于快照,所以您的当前使用量可能有差异。限额和使用数据最多可能需要 24 小时才能反映变化。在有些情况下,一段时间内您的使用量可能要高于规定的限制。

检查附加到 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (Amazon EC2) 实例且未针对 Amazon EBS 优化的预置 IOPS 卷。Amazon Elastic Block Store (Amazon EBS) 中的预置 IOPS 卷的设计目的是,仅在它们附加到针对 EBS 优化的实例时提供预期的性能。

检查每个 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 安全组的过量规则。如果安全组有大量规则,性能可能会降级。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon EC2 Security Groups

检查拥有大量安全组规则的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) 实例。如果实例有大量规则,性能可能会降级。

检查 Amazon Elastic Block Store (EBS) 磁卷是否存在过度使用的问题,以及是否可以从更高效的配置中获益。磁卷设计用于应用程序具有适度或突发 I/O 需求的情况,无法保证 IOPS 速率。它平均提供约 100 IOPS,最大能激增至数百 IOPS。如果要持续应对较高的 IOPS,您可以切换到通用 (SSD) 卷或使用预配置 IOPS (SSD) 卷,这可以实现最高 4000 IOPS。预设置 IOPS (SSD) 卷能够在附加到针对 Amazon EBS 优化的 Amazon EC2 实例时,在 99.9% 的时间内提供 10% 以内的指定 IOPS 性能。