General

  • Q. What is Amazon GameLift?

    Amazon GameLift is a managed service for deploying, operating, and scaling dedicated game servers for session-based multiplayer games. You can deploy your first game server in the cloud in just minutes, saving up to thousands of engineering hours in upfront software development and lowering the technical risks that often cause developers to cut multiplayer features from their designs. Built on the proven computing environment of Amazon Web Services (hereinafter referred to as “AWS”), Amazon GameLift lets you scale high-performance game servers up and down to meet player demand. You pay only for the capacity you use, so you can get started whether you’re working on a new game idea or running a game with millions of players.

  • Amazon GameLift works best with multiplayer games that have game sessions that begin and end within a specified time period. Typically, these are multiplayer games in genres like first person shooters, MOBAs, fighting, racing, or sports.

  • Q. Does Amazon GameLift work for latency-intolerant games, such as first-person shooters? Does Amazon GameLift add latency to my game?

    Amazon GameLift is designed to work for latency-intolerant games. Amazon GameLift introduces no additional latency during gameplay.

    When joining a game session, your game client communicates with the Amazon GameLift service to reserve a player slot and receive connection details. This step may take up to several seconds. However, once the player connects to a game server, all player-to-server communication is done directly between your game client and game server. Latency experienced during gameplay will depend upon the player's internet connection and their physical distance to the game server.

Billing

  • Q. How much does Amazon GameLift cost?

    You pay for the compute resources and bandwidth your games actually use, without monthly or annual contracts. Please see our pricing page for more information.

  • Q. When does billing of my Amazon GameLift games begin and end?

    Billing begins when you allocate Amazon GameLift capacity and Amazon GameLift launches your game’s server binary for the first time on each instance. Billing concludes when you stop instances. For Windows instances, which are billed per instance-hour, partial instance-hours consumed are billed as full hours. For Linux instances, which are billed per instance-second, there is a 1 minute minimum charge per-instance.

  • Q. Is there an additional charge for using FlexMatch?

    No, not directly. However, please note that successful matches with FlexMatch automatically result in the creation of new game sessions. Depending on how you’re managing game server capacity, creating new game sessions may trigger additional server instances, for which you’ll be charged standard Amazon GameLift instance prices.

  • Q. How is the 70% compute cost savings compared to colocation environments calculated?

    Compared to running servers in a colocation environment, Amazon GameLift with Spot Instances and Autoscaling can save you up to 70% on compute costs. Here is a sample cost comparison.

    We start with the AWS Total Cost of Ownership (TCO) calculator  to estimate the cost of running game servers in a colocation environment.

    For this example, we calculated costs in the US East region (N. Virginia) using Linux as our operating system and 2 CPU cores and 3 GB of memory for our servers. At peak demand, we assumed we needed 2,500 instances running. These inputs result in a 3-year total compute cost of about $4.5 million, or roughly $125,000 per month.

    Next, we chose a comparable configuration with Amazon GameLift: a c4.large instance meets the 2 CPU cores with 3 GB of memory requirement.

    Now we’ll calculate the cost savings from using Amazon GameLift Spot instances. While Spot prices fluctuate throughout the day, a good rule of thumb is that Amazon GameLift Spot instances running Linux are on average 70% less expensive than the same On-Demand instances. The On-Demand price for a c4.large instance in the US East (N. Virginia) region is $0.127 per hour. Using our rule of thumb, we arrive at a Spot instance price of $0.04. Running 2,500 instances 24 hours a day for an entire month (assuming a 30 day month) comes to $229,000 per month for On-Demand instances, but only $72,000 per month for Spot instances. So Spot instances give us a 42% savings over colocation.

    However, based on the variability from player traffic, most games don’t need peak capacity 24/7. To automatically handle changing capacity needs based on your current player demand, Amazon GameLift autoscales the number of instances up and down throughout the day. While it’s hard to know what daily demand will look like for all games, we estimated that the hourly average runs at 50% of peak capacity. With auto-scaling, that brings the cost down just under $36,000 for the month.

    Compared to the $125,000 we calculated for the colocation solution, that saves us $89,000 or 71%. Note that this calculation does not include the cost of data transfer. Data transfer fees are generated for traffic between your game servers and your game clients. Inbound data transfer is free. For outbound data transfer rates to other AWS services and regions in China, visit the Data Transfer Rates.

Development

Instances and Fleets

  • Q. Which instance types does Amazon GameLift support?

    Please see our pricing page for a full list of Amazon GameLift instances.

  • Q. How many server processes can I run on an Amazon GameLift instance?

    Up to 50. The number of server processes depends on the performance requirements of your game servers and the instance type you choose for your fleet. When you set up a fleet, you will select an instance type and configure the fleet to concurrently run an optimum number of server processes. Running more processes on fewer instances can help you decrease costs. You can also configure your fleet to run multiple server builds or game configurations on each instance.

  • Q. How quickly can I add or remove new instances from my Amazon GameLift fleet?

    Amazon GameLift provides a truly elastic computing environment. Amazon GameLift instances enable you to increase or decrease capacity within minutes, not hours or days. You can provision one, hundreds, or even thousands of server instances simultaneously.

    Seamlessly provide the capacity you need to meet changes in player demand with Amazon GameLift Target Tracking. Target Tracking is an autoscaling feature that allows you to simply set a percentage target for available game sessions, creating a buffer to accommodate fluctuations in player traffic. Amazon GameLift will add or remove capacity as required to keep this buffer of available game sessions at the target value you define and adjust to a fluctuating load pattern, minimizing rapid fluctuations in capacity. For more information, see the Autoscaling section of the Amazon GameLift Developer Guide.

    You can also manually control the quantity of instances from the fleet details page in the Amazon GameLift console.

  • Q. How do I select the right instance type for my game?

    The right instance type depends on your game’s server performance and the number of server processes you plan to run concurrently on each instance. The computational complexity of your game, optimization of your game and network code, and maximum number of players are the main drivers for the size of the instance that you will need. One of the advantages of Amazon GameLift is that you only pay for what you use, which makes it convenient and inexpensive to test the performance of your game on different instance families and types.

  • Q. What happens to my data when an Amazon GameLift instance terminates?

    Amazon GameLift retains activity metrics. When you terminate an instance, any data generated by your game server and stored on the instance is lost. However, you can instruct Amazon GameLift to retain and store these data files for up to seven days after the instance has been terminated.

  • Q. What is a fleet?

    A fleet is a set of Amazon GameLift instances in one region running one build of your game server. You can accommodate changes in player demand by increasing or decreasing the number of instances in your fleet. A fleet is configured to use a certain instance type, to deploy a build, and to run one or more server processes on each instance.

  • Q. How long does it take to create a fleet?

    It typically takes less than an hour to set up the resources necessary to run your game, measured from the time you upload your game binary to when it is fully deployed and accessible to your players. This time is dependent on the size of your binary and the number of instances you are deploying.

  • Q. Can I access fleets and instances in real time?

    Yes. You can remotely access an instance in a fleet that is in an activating, active, or error status. This is useful for debugging, inspecting player activity in real time, or connecting performance monitoring or benchmarking tools. You can modify your fleet’s port settings and protocols using either the AWS command line interface (CLI) or through the Amazon GameLift console.

  • Q. Does Amazon GameLift allow me to update a live production fleet, or revert to a previous fleet if there is a problem?

    Yes, Amazon GameLift makes updating production fleets simple with its alias feature. An alias enables you to direct traffic to fleets without having to change the client end-point descriptor. After creating a new production fleet, you can edit an alias to point from an older fleet to this newer fleet, routing all connecting players to the new fleet alias feature.

    Similarly, if you discover an issue with a fleet (e.g., you find an issue in your game code), you can edit an alias to redirect traffic from the new fleet to an older fleet.

  • Q. Which regions is Amazon GameLift available in?

    Within China, Amazon GameLift is currently available in AWS China (Beijing) Region, operated by Sinnet.

  • Q. In which AWS regions can I place a FlexMatch matchmaker?

    Within China: AWS China (Beijing) Region, operated by Sinnet. A matchmaker located in AWS China (Beijing) Region, operated by Sinnet will only place players into fleets in AWS China (Beijing) Region and can only be associated with a queue located in AWS China (Beijing) Region. 

Storage

Operational Limits

Amazon GameLift Spot and FleetIQ

Other

  • Q. What is an AMI?

    An Amazon Machine Image (AMI) is a supported and maintained image provided by AWS for use on Amazon EC2. Amazon GameLift uses Windows 2012 R2 and Amazon Linux to run your game server. An AMI is designed to provide a stable, secure, and high performance execution environment for applications running on Amazon EC2. It also includes packages that enable easy integration with AWS, including launch configuration tools and many popular AWS libraries and tools. AWS provides ongoing security and maintenance updates to all instances running the Amazon AMI.

  • Q. Can anyone access the Amazon GameLift console?

    No. Only your authorized users with the necessary AWS credentials can access the Amazon GameLift console. You can use AWS Identity and Access Management (IAM) to securely share AWS credentials across a team. Please see Creating IAM Policies for Amazon GameLift for more details.

  • Q. Where can I find more information about security and running applications on AWS?

    For more information about securing AWS resources, see the AWS Security Center.

  • Q. How did we calculate a 41 ms global median latency when using Amazon GameLift?

    We worked with a customer to measure latency between player game clients and Amazon GameLift servers. Based on 236,000 unique players connecting between May 1 and May 10, 2018 to servers in 9 regions, median latency globally for Amazon GameLift was 41 milliseconds.

Learn more about Amazon GameLift pricing

Visit the pricing page
Ready to get started?
Request an account
Have more questions?
Contact us

一般性问题

  • 问:什么是 Amazon GameLift?

    Amazon GameLift 是一种托管服务,用于部署、操作和扩展基于会话的多人游戏专用游戏服务器。您可以在短短几分钟内完成首个游戏服务器的云中部署,这样既可以节省在前期软件开发过程中所花费的大量工程时间,还能降低技术风险,这些风险往往导致开发人员从设计中删除多人游戏功能。基于经验证的 Amazon Web Services(以下简称“AWS”)计算环境,Amazon GameLift 允许您扩展和缩减高性能游戏服务器,以满足玩家的需求。您只需为使用的容量付费,因此无论是开发新的游戏创意还是运行有数百万玩家的大型游戏,您都可以放心使用。

  • Amazon GameLift 适合游戏会话在指定时间段内开始和结束的多人游戏。通常包括第一人称射击游戏、多人在线战术竞技游戏 (MOBA)、格斗游戏、赛车游戏或体育游戏等多人游戏类型。

  • 问:Amazon GameLift 是否适用于延迟零容忍的游戏,例如第一人称射击游戏? Amazon GameLift 是否会给我的游戏增加延迟?

    Amazon GameLift 专为延迟零容忍的游戏而设计。Amazon GameLift 在游戏过程中不会引入额外延迟。

    加入游戏会话时,您的游戏客户端会与 Amazon GameLift 服务进行通信,以预留玩家位置并接收连接详细信息。此步骤可能需要几秒钟。但是,一旦玩家连接到游戏服务器,所有玩家与服务器的通信都将直接在游戏客户端和游戏服务器之间完成。游戏过程中遇到的延迟将取决于玩家的网络连接和他们与游戏服务器的物理距离。

计费

  • 问:Amazon GameLift 的费用是多少?

    您需要为游戏实际使用的计算资源和带宽付费,无需签订月度或年度合同。有关更多信息,请参阅我们的定价页面

  • 问:我的 Amazon GameLift 游戏的账单周期怎么计算?

    当您分配 Amazon GameLift 容量,并且 Amazon GameLift 首次在每个实例上启动您的游戏服务器二进制文件时开始计费。当您停止实例时,计费结束。对于按实例小时计费的 Windows 实例,未满一个实例小时,按一小时计费。对于按实例秒计费的 Linux 实例,每个实例的最低收费为 1 分钟。

  • 问:使用 FlexMatch 需要额外付费吗?

    不直接收费。但请注意,与 FlexMatch 成功匹配会自动创建新的游戏会话。根据您管理游戏服务器容量的方式,创建新的游戏会话可能会触发额外的服务器实例,因此您需要按标准的 Amazon GameLift 实例价格付费。

  • 问:与主机托管环境相比,如何计算出 70% 的计算成本节约?

    与托管环境中运行的服务器相比,具有 Spot 实例和 Autoscaling 功能的 Amazon GameLift 可以节省 70 %的计算成本。此处是成本比较示例。

    我们使用 AWS 总体拥有成本 (TCO) 计算器即可估算在主机托管环境中运行游戏服务器的成本。

    在本例中,我们计算了在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)区域使用 Linux 作为操作系统的成本,并为我们的服务器配备 2 个 CPU 内核和 3GB 内存。在需求高峰时,我们假设需要运行 2500 个实例。输入这些信息计算出来的 3 年总计算成本约 450 万美元,每月约 125000 美元。

    接下来,我们选择了与 Amazon GameLift 相当的配置:c4.large 实例可满足 2 个CPU 内核和 3GB 内存的需求。

    现在我们将计算使用 Amazon GameLift Spot 实例所节省的成本。虽然 Spot 价格一整天都在波动,但有一个很好的经验法则,即运行 Linux 的 Amazon GameLift Spot 实例价格比相同按需实例的价格要低 70%。在美国东部(弗吉尼亚北部)地区,c4.large 实例的按需价格为每小时 0.127 美元。根据经验法则,我们得出 Spot 实例的价格为 0.04 美元。一天 24 小时运行 2500 个实例,一个月(假设每月 30 天)的按需实例成本为 229000 美元,但 Spot 实例的月成本仅为 72000 美元。因此,Spot 实例比主机托管节省了 42 %的费用。

    但是,根据玩家流量的变化,大多数游戏并非全天候都需要峰值容量。为了根据您当前的玩家需求自动处理不断变化的容量需求,Amazon GameLift 全天自动调整实例数量。虽然很难知道每天的需求量,但我们估计每天的平均运行量是峰值容量的 50%。借助 auto-scaling,这个月的成本降低了近 36000 USD。

    与我们计算的 125000 美元的主机托管解决方案相比,节省了 89000 美元 (71%) 的成本。请注意,此计算不包括数据传输的成本。游戏服务器和游戏客户端之间的流量会产生数据传输费用。入站数据传输是免费的。对于到其他 AWS 服务和区域的出站数据传输费率,请访问数据传输费率

开发

实例和队列

  • 问题。Amazon GameLift 支持哪种实例类型?

    有关 Amazon GameLift 实例的完整列表,请参阅我们的定价页面

  • 问题。我可以在 Amazon GameLift 实例上运行多少个服务器进程?

    50 个。服务器进程的数量取决于游戏服务器的性能要求和您为队列选择的实例类型。设置队列时,您要选择一种实例类型,并将队列配置为同时运行最佳数量的服务器进程。在更少的实例上运行更多进程可以帮助您降低成本。您也可以将队列配置为在每个实例上运行多个服务器构建版本或游戏配置。

  • 问题。向我的 Amazon GameLift 队列中添加或从中删除新实例最快需要多久?

    Amazon EC2 提供真正的弹性计算环境。使用 Amazon GameLift,只需几分钟即可增加或减少容量,根本不需要几小时或几天。 您可以同时管理一个、几百个,甚至几千个服务器实例。

    Amazon GameLift 目标跟踪可无缝提供所需的容量,以满足玩家的需求变化。目标跟踪是一项自动调整功能,您可以只为可用的游戏会话设置百分比目标,创建缓冲区以适应玩家流量的波动。Amazon GameLift 将根据需要添加或删除容量,以便将可用游戏会话的缓冲区保持在您定义的目标值,并调整波动的负载模式,从而最大限度地减少容量的快速波动。有关更多信息,请参阅 Amazon GameLift 开发人员指南的“自动调整”部分。

    您还可以在 Amazon GameLift 控制台的队列详细信息页面手动控制实例数量。

  • 问:如何为我的游戏选择正确的实例类型?

    正确的实例类型取决于游戏的服务器性能和计划在每个实例上同时运行的服务器进程数量。游戏的计算复杂性、游戏和网络代码的优化以及玩家的最大数量是您所需的实例大小的主要驱动因素。Amazon GameLift 有一项优势,即您只需按实际使用量付费,这样在不同的实例系列和类型上测试游戏性能就变得既方便又经济实惠。

  • 问题。当 Amazon GameLift 实例终止时,我的数据会怎么样?

    Amazon GameLift 保留活动指标。当您终止实例时,游戏服务器生成并存储在实例上的所有数据都将丢失。但是,您可以指示 Amazon GameLift 在实例终止后保留和存储这些数据文件,最多七天。

  • 问题。什么是队列?

    队列是在一个地区运行一个游戏服务器版本的一组 Amazon GameLift 实例。您可以通过增加或减少队列中的实例数量来适应玩家的需求变化。队列被配置为使用某种实例类型、部署构建版本并在每个实例上运行一个或多个服务器进程。

  • 问题。创建一个队列需要多长时间?

    设置运行游戏所需的资源通常不到一个小时,从您上传游戏二进制文件开始算起,直到游戏部署完成并可供玩家访问。此时间取决于二进制文件的大小和部署的实例数。

  • 问题。我可以实时访问队列和实例吗?

    可以。您可以远程访问队列中处于激活、活动或错误状态的实例。这有助于实时调试、检测玩家活动或连接性能监控或基准测试工具。您可以使用 AWS 命令行界面 (CLI) 或通过 Amazon GameLift 控制台修改队列的端口设置和协议。

  • 问:如果出现问题,Amazon GameLift 是否允许我更新实时生产队列或者恢复到之前的队列?

    是的,Amazon GameLift 具有别名功能,可轻松更新生产队列。您可以使用别名将流量定向到队列,而无需更改客户端端点的描述符。创建新的生产队列后,您可以编辑别名以从旧队列指向新队列,从而将所有连接的玩家路由到新的队列别名功能。

    同样地,如果您发现队列存在问题(例如,发现游戏代码中存在问题),则可以编辑别名,以便将流量从新队列重定向到旧队列。

  • 问题。Amazon GameLift 可在哪些区域使用?

    由光环新网运营的 AWS 中国(北京)区域现已提供 Amazon GameLift。

  • 问:我可以在哪些 AWS 区域放置 FlexMatch 匹配器?

    在由光环新网运营的 AWS 中国(北京)区域。位于由光环新网运营的 AWS 中国(北京)区域的匹配器只会将玩家放入 AWS 中国(北京)区域的队列中,并且只能与位于 AWS 中国(北京)区域的队列相关联。 

存储

运行限制

Amazon GameLift Spot 和 FleetIQ

其他

了解有关 Amazon GameLift 定价的更多信息

访问定价页面
准备好开始使用了吗?
申请账户
还有更多问题?
联系我们