Posted On: Nov 27, 2018

Amazon S3 Object Lock is a new S3 feature that blocks object version deletion during a customer-defined retention period so that you can enforce retention policies as an added layer of data protection or for regulatory compliance. You can migrate workloads from existing write-once-read-many (WORM) systems into Amazon S3, and configure S3 Object Lock at the object- and bucket-levels to prevent object version deletions prior to pre-defined Retain Until Dates or Legal Hold Dates. S3 Object Lock protection is maintained regardless of which storage class the object resides in and throughout S3 Lifecycle transitions between storage classes.

Used with S3 Versioning, which protects objects from being overwritten, you’re able to ensure that objects remain immutable for as long as S3 Object Lock protection is applied. You can apply S3 Object Lock protection by either assigning a Retain Until Date or a Legal Hold to an object using the AWS SDK, AWS CLI, REST API, or the S3 Management Console. You can apply retention settings within a PUT request, or apply them to an existing object after it has been created. To track what objects have S3 Object Lock, you can refer to an S3 Inventory report that includes the WORM status of objects.

S3 Object Lock can be configured in one of two modes. When deployed in Governance mode, AWS accounts with specific IAM permissions are able to remove object locks from objects. If you require stronger immutability to comply with regulations, you can use Compliance Mode. In Compliance Mode, the protection cannot be removed by any user, including the root account.

You can use Amazon S3 Object Lock in AWS China (Beijing) region, operated by Sinnet, and in AWS China (Ningxia) region, operated by NWCD. To learn more about S3 Object Lock, please visit the Amazon S3 Developer Guide.

发布于: Nov 27, 2018

Amazon S3 对象锁定是一种全新的 S3 功能,可在客户定义的保留期内阻止对象版本删除,以便您可以为增加的数据保护层或法规合规性实施保留策略。您可以将工作负载从现有的一次写入多次读取 (WORM) 系统迁移到 Amazon S3,并在对象级别和存储桶级别配置 S3 对象锁定,以防止在预定义保留期限或法定保留期限到期之前删除对象版本。无论对象驻留在哪个存储类中以及存储类之间的 S3 生命周期转换,都会维持 S3 对象锁定保护。

与可保护对象不被覆盖的 S3 版本控制结合使用,只要应用 S3 对象锁定保护,您就能确保对象保持不可变。您可以通过使用 AWS SDK、AWS CLI、REST API 或 S3 管理控制台为对象分配保留期限或法定保留期限来应用 S3 对象锁定保护。您可以在 PUT 请求中应用保留设置,也可以在创建对象后将其应用于现有对象。要跟踪确定哪些对象具有 S3 对象锁定,您可以参考包含对象 WORM 状态的 S3 清单报告。

S3 对象锁定可以配置为两种模式之一。在监管模式下部署时,具有特定 IAM 权限的 AWS 账户可以从对象中删除对象锁定。如果您需要增强不可变性以遵从法规,则可以使用合规模式。在合规模式下,包括根账户在内的任何用户都无法删除保护。

您现在可以在由光环新网运营的 AWS 中国(北京)地区和由西云数据运营的 AWS 中国(宁夏)地区使用 Amazon S3 对象锁定功能。 要详细了解 S3 对象锁定功能,请访问 Amazon S3 开发人员指南