Posted On: Aug 6, 2018

The AWS Deep Learning AMIs for Ubuntu and Amazon Linux now come with an optimized build of TensorFlow 1.9 custom-built directly from the source code and fine-tuned for high performance training, Horovod for TensorFlow multi-GPU scaling, the latest Apache MXNet 1.2 performance and usability improvements, the new Keras 2-MXNet backend with high performance multi-GPU training support, a new MXBoard tool for improved debugging and visualization of MXNet training models, an upgraded NIVIDA stack, and support for Open Neural Network Exchange (ONNX) for framework interoperability.  

Faster training with optimized TensorFlow 1.9

Deep Learning AMIs now come with a compute-optimized build of TensorFlow 1.9 custom-built directly from the source code to accelerate training performance on the Intel Xeon Platinum processors powering Amazon EC2 C5 instances. They also offer a GPU-optimized build of TensorFlow 1.9 configured with NVIDIA CUDA 9 and cuDNN 7 to take advantage of mixed precision training on the Volta V100 GPUs powering Amazon EC2 P3 instances. Deep Learning AMIs automatically deploy the high performance build of TensorFlow optimized for the EC2 instance of your choice when you activate the TensorFlow virtual environment for the first time.

In addition, for developers looking to scale their TensorFlow training from single GPU to multiple GPUs, the AMIs come fully-configured with Horovod, which is a popular open-source distributed training framework. We have released several performance improvements and configurations in this pre-built version of Horovod that make it faster to run distributed training over clusters of Amazon EC2 P3 instances.

Apache MXNet 1.2 Improvements

Deep Learning AMIs support the latest release of Apache MXNet 1.2, offering better ease-of-use and faster performance. MXNet 1.2 includes a new Scala-based, thread-safe, high-level inference API that makes it easier to perform predictions using deep learning models trained with MXNet. MXNet 1.2 also offers the new Intel MKL-DNN integration that accelerates neural network operators such as convolution, deconvolution, and pooling on compute-optimized C5 instances, and support for enhanced FP16 that accelerates mixed precision training on Tensor Cores of NVIDIA Volta V100 GPUs powering Amazon EC2 P3 instances.

High performance multi-GPU training with MXNet backend for Keras 2

Deep Learning AMIs come pre-installed with the new Keras-MXNet deep learning backend. Keras is a high-level, Python neural network API that is popular for its quick and easy prototyping of convolutional neural networks (CNNs) and recurrent neural networks (RNNs). Keras developers now use MXNet as their backend deep engine for distributed training of CNNs and RNNs, and get higher performance. Developers can design in Keras, train with Keras-MXNet, and run inference with MxNet in large-scale production environments.

Improved debugging support with MXBoard

With MXBoard, a Python package that provides APIs for logging MXNet data for visualization in TensorBoard, developers can easily debug and visualize their MXNet model training. MXBoard supports a range of visualizations including histograms, convolutional filters, visual embedding, and more.

NVIDIA stack upgrade

NIVIDA stack in the AMIs now include the latest NVIDIA GPU driver 396.37, CUDA 8.0, 9.0 and 9.2, cuDNN 7.1.4, and NCCL 2.2.13, so developers don’t have to install the drivers on their own.

Framework interoperability with ONNX

The Deep Learning AMIs come pre-installed with Open Neural Network Exchange (ONNX), an open source format for neural network computational graph, that is supported by an increasing list of frameworks, including Apache MXNet, TensorFlow, PyTorch, Chainer, and Cognitive Toolkit (CNTK). ONNX gives developers the flexibility to migrate between frameworks. For example, developers can use PyTorch for prototyping, building and training their models, and then use ONNX to migrate their models to MXNet to leverage its scalability for inference.

Getting started with the Deep Learning AMIs

You can quickly get started with the AWS Deep Learning AMIs by using the tutorials in the developer guide. You can find the Deep Learning AMI of your choice in the Quick Start section of the Step 1: Choose an Amazon Machine Image (AMI) in the EC2 instance launch wizard (see the following image).
 

deep-learning-bjs-getting-started

发布于: Aug 6, 2018

适用于 Ubuntu 和 Amazon Linux 的 AWS Deep Learning AMI 现在可以提供以下功能:优化版 TensorFlow 1.9,其直接通过源代码定制并且经过微调,用于支持高性能训练;支持 TensorFlow 多 GPU 扩展的 Horovod;最新的 Apache MXNet 1.2 性能和可用性改进;具有高性能多 GPU 训练支持的新 Keras 2-MXNet 后端;新的 MXBoard 工具,用于改进 MXNet 训练模型的调试和可视化;经过升级的 NIVIDA 堆栈;以及支持开放式神经网络交换 (ONNX),以便实现框架互操作性。

借助经过优化的 TensorFlow 1.9 加快训练速度

Deep Learning AMI 现在附带直接通过源代码定制的计算优化版 TensorFlow 1.9,可以提升为 Amazon EC2 C5 实例提供支持的 Intel Xeon Platinum 处理器的训练性能。AMI 还提供 GPU 优化版 TensorFlow 1.9,该版本配置有 NVIDIA CUDA 9 和 cuDNN 7,可以充分利用为 Amazon EC2 P3 实例提供支持的 Volta V100 GPU 上的混合精度训练。当您第一次激活 TensorFlow 虚拟环境时,Deep Learning AMI 会自动部署针对您选择的 EC2 实例优化过的高性能版 TensorFlow。

此外,对于希望将 TensorFlow 训练从单个 GPU 扩展到多个 GPU 的开发人员,AMI 全面配置了 Horovod,这是一个热门开源分布式训练框架。我们在这一预构建版 Horovod 中发布了多项性能改进和配置,可以加快在 Amazon EC2 P3 实例群集上运行分布式训练的速度。

Apache MXNet 1.2 的改进

Deep Learning AMI 支持最新版本的 Apache MXNet 1.2,可以实现更好的易用性和更快的性能。MXNet 1.2 包含一个全新的基于 Scala 的线程安全高级推理 API,让您可以使用经过 MXNet 训练的深度学习模型更轻松地执行预测。MXNet 1.2 还提供全新 Intel MKL-DNN 集成,可以加速经过计算优化的 C5 实例上卷积、反卷积和池化等神经网络算子的运算。它也支持增强的 FP16,从而加速为 Amazon EC2 P3 实例提供支持的 NVIDIA Volta V100 GPU 的 Tensor 核心上的混合精度训练。

借助适用于 Keras 2 的 MXNet 后端进行高性能多 GPU 训练

Deep Learning AMI 预安装了新的 Keras-MXNet 深度学习后端。Keras 是一种高级 Python 神经网络 API,因其快速简便的卷积神经网络 (CNN) 和循环神经网络 (RNN) 原型设计而广受欢迎。Keras 开发人员现在可以使用 MXNet 作为后端深度引擎,用于 CNN 和 RNN 的分布式训练,同时获得更高的性能。开发人员可以在 Keras 中进行设计,使用 Keras-MXNet 进行训练,并可以在大规模生产环境中使用 MxNet 进行推理。

借助 MXBoard 改善了调试支持

MXBoard 是一个 Python 程序包,提供各种 API 来记录 MXNet 数据,以便在 TensorBoard 中实现可视化,开发人员可以借助 MXBoard 来轻松调试和可视化他们的 MXNet 模型训练。MXBoard 支持一系列可视化,包括直方图、卷积滤波器、可视嵌入等。

NVIDIA 堆栈升级

AMI 中的 NIVIDA 堆栈现在包含最新的 NVIDIA GPU 驱动程序 396.37、CUDA 8.0、CUDA 9.0、CUDA 9.2、cuDNN 7.1.4 和 NCCL 2.2.13,因此开发人员不需要自己安装驱动程序。

框架与 ONNX 的互操作性

AWS Deep Learning AMI 预安装了开放式神经网络交换 (ONNX),这是一种开源格式的神经网络计算图。目前有越来越多的框架可以支持 ONNX,这些框架包括 Apache MXNet、TensorFlow、PyTorch、Chainer 和 Cognitive Toolkit (CNTK)。ONNX 让开发人员可以灵活地在框架之间进行迁移。例如,开发人员可以使用 PyTorch 进行原型设计以及模型的构建和训练,然后使用 ONNX 将模型迁移到 MXNet,以便利用其可扩展性进行推理。

开始使用 Deep Learning AMI

您可以按照开发人员指南中的教程快速开始使用 AWS Deep Learning AMI。您可以在 EC2 实例启动向导中的“步骤 1:选择 Amazon 系统映像 (AMI)”的快速入门部分找到您选择的 Deep Learning AMI(参见下图)。
 

deep-learning-bjs-getting-started